Purposeful Life – Happy Life

i_have_a_purpose

There have been moments when I would be deep in thought, pondering “What is the purpose of this life? What is the reason I am here?” and many more variations of such thoughts would meander in my mind. This was a long, long time ago when I was in my mid-teens.

Now in my late twenties, I have matured enough, and learned enough to realize that this life has been blessed on me to grow as a human as only a human can be. I had attended one of the discourses of a Jain monk in our community one day who gave an enlightening speech about the need to be spiritually connected.

From him I realized that being born as a human is the highest blessing a soul can get. Humans have the potential next to none other form of life in this entire universe. A man can become an angel or a devil, whichever he chooses.

As I have grown in age and maturity, I have learnt and still learning the true purpose of this human life. When I see so many people live a life less privileged, I realize that the purpose of life is to help others in need.

When I see the self inflicted sorrow in people’s lives, I realize that the purpose of this human life is not to stagnate but to grow in character, personality and integrity.

When I see the evil acts of people lost in greed, I realize that this life has been blessed on me to detach myself from materialism and reach for a higher goal: Nirvana!

In other words, I have now discovered that to traverse thisĀ  journey called life with the highest clarity and the most pure thoughts, to strive for growth and to reach the highest peaks of contentmentĀ  is the purpose of this life!

I look forward to your thoughts.

– Raj

Leave a Reply

